Hitting a Wall | Episode 3

In a metaphorical sense, hitting the wall is defined by the Cambridge Dictionary as “reaching a point when you are running, exercising, playing sports, etc. where you are so physically tired you feel you cannot continue.” Now I don’t do sports, so I’m adopting the term for the blogging medium. I’ve hit the wall with blogging. And I’m hitting it hard.

I have never been one to compare my blog to any other blog. In fact, I’ve never been one to compare myself to anyone else – even when others have. However, recently that seems to be changing. There are many factors that may contribute to this: a higher consumption of sugar and caffeine that leads to an increase in anxiety, loss of passion, stress from University assignments, or a lack of certainty about my future. Who knows, it could be all of the above.

But it’s starting to have an effect on my motivation. I see the number of views/likes on a post and then compare them to the views/likes on a similar blog and it’s starting to get me down. I’ve been blogging on a mostly scheduled basis – with the occasional hiatus – since February 2016. And while I’m incredibly happy for every blogger that builds an audience and gets hundreds of views and comments, I wish I was one of them.

I understand that it takes time. But I see sites that have been around for the same amount as mine, sites with hundreds of followers, and I keep asking myself “what am I doing wrong?” Probably nothing. Possibly everything.

I’m not writing this to be all “SHOW ME LOVE NOW!!”. This is just a thought that has been on my mind a little bit over the past few weeks. It’s something that hits every writer, Youtuber, creative mind at some point. And I know that some people only wish to read certain types of content, like Book Reviews. But, because I am either reading books incredibly slowly, or reading books that came out years and years ago and have been reviewed to death, I haven’t been releasing many reviews.

So, I’m hitting a wall, finding it difficult to muster enough motivation to create new and engaging content as a result of some slight insecurities. Nothing major.

I wish I could promise that I will leave this funk behind and begin creating ‘better’ content. But I can’t. I’ve made promises in the past regarding blogging goals and have failed to follow through.

While this won’t indefinitely stop me from making posts, I think it would be a good idea for me to step back and brainstorm. I would love for my posts to have more to them, more time dedicated to research and design, instead of publishing under-whelming pieces.

Devon 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hitting a Wall | Episode 3

  1. Ahh, I totally get your frustrations and everything in regards to blogging. I’m still surprised where I’ve managed to get, but sometimes I’ll see blogs that have been around for half as long as me with followers in the 1000s and I’m like HOW?? 😂 I especially struggle with original content and discussions. My blog is like 90% lists and tags, haha. Some things that I think really help though is blog hopping as much as you can. Participate all the weekly memes and using the link ups. If you read posts and it says anywhere to leave a link to your own post, then totally do it!!! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice Lauren! There are definitely some memes I would like to take part in in the future x

      Like

Leave a Comment

