The DNF Pile | Part 1

With an ever-growing TBR pile and not enough time to read every book, it’s a saddening prospect when you realise you must put one down in order to move onto another.

Typically, books are added to the DNF pile because they failed to meet expectations, or you didn’t jive with the characters/story/writing. It’s always a struggle to admit that maybe this book isn’t right for you, that it’s time to move on to something better. Sometimes it’s a reluctant goodbye as you fall into a reading slump or must focus on important real world work.

There is no shame in it. That book may not be your cup of tea, or the timing just isn’t right, and that’s fine. So here is a list of some of the books on my DNF pile as of April 2017 and why they were added to the pile.


A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls. Patrick Ness.

Stop Point: 30 Pages

Let’s start with a more positive DNF. A Monster Calls was set to be my first Patrick Ness read, and as it was on my TBR for a readathon, I really wanted to read this one. And for the most part I engaged and enjoyed it. The writing was superb, and the story was even emotional within the first few pages. But, I just lost the motivation to continue.

Hopefully I will return to this read one day.

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic

Stop Point: 28 Pages

Maybe I didn’t give this read a chance. I mean 28 pages is nothing, barely an inclining of what the narrative has to offer. However, I have never had a close relationship with the contemporary genre and compared to my other reads, it felt as if this narrative didn’t have much going for it. Maybe one day I will give this read another chance, but it’s not on my ‘immediate TBR’.

The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R.Carey

The-Girl-with-All-the-Gifts

Stop Point: 55%

Oh my did I fail to jive with this book back in 2015. At the time, my preferred reads were limited to dystonia novels featuring distant societies, i.e. The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Giver, etc. And my record with Zombie-centric plots was plain bad – having DNFd The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, and This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers (which I later completed and adored).

The writing failed to engage me, with the third person omniscient perspective constantly switching focus in a sporadic manner. Plus, despite the action packed narrative, the writing failed to entice any emotional reaction. I just wasn’t connecting to the characters, and so stakes never felt as high as they should have.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

25546710

Stop Point: 31%

I recently released a review for The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett which pretty much sums up everything I need to say. But, in case you haven’t read it, the main reason for me adding this book to my DNF pile is because the main protagonist is unbearable. There is having an unlikable protagonist, then there is Hawthorn. The first person perspective offers no respite from her insane theories and judgemental personality.

For me, it was too much. She did not feel like a real person.


Have you read any of these books? If so, share your opinions down below! Also, what books are on your DNF pile and why? If you think I should give some of these books another chance, tell me and maybe I will.

This post was supposed to be my entire DNF pile, however it ended up being quite a long read, so I’ve separated it into two parts. Part two will be up within the next few weeks.

Hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Comment

