Asexuality | Episode 2

At this point, I’m not certain whether or not I have discussed my sexuality on this blog. It’s been over a year since I started posting, so it’s likely to have popped up once or twice. However, for the longest time, I have been plucking up the ‘courage’ – for lack of a better word – to talk about who I am and how I identify in a proper post.

Previously, on a post regarding how to be productive while lacking motivation, I mentioned my mental health, a topic I found quite straightforward to describe. But, sexuality, for me personally, it a trickier concept to talk about as you can’t rely on the science behind it.

Luckily, I’m learning how to, not so much explain, but educate those around me as to what being Asexual means. The more I become confident and comfortable discussing my asexuality, the more relaxed I feel when I have to educate new people. After all, I recognise that certain people don’t have access to the same information, or haven’t researched the topic as extensively as I have.

For those who don’t know, asexuality describes a person who doesn’t experience sexual attraction. And this is our flag:

AceFlag

Sadly, on some occasions I am faced with backlash or a response that dampens my confidence. It’s a reality that I will never be use to; one that I refuse to accept. Every person is an individual, with different histories, motivations, traits, hobbies, mannerisms, etc. There are people who fail to realise that, people who will berate those who go against what they believe to be right.

The only way to fix this, is to educate those people. And if they refuse to learn, you can then refuse to listen to their opinions regarding the matter.


ACE.PNG

I recently worked on an article for the site IT EQUALS. In this article I examined the excessive sexualisation in today’s society, and the resulting feeling of being ‘broken’ as an asexual, alongside my personal experience with ‘coming out’ as ace.

You can check out the article here. As well as the main IT EQUALS site, which offers a platform for the discussion of under represented groups, the politics of individuality, and how the media portrays specific types of people in society.

This article allowed me to discuss a topic which I haven’t been able to discuss on HowesBooks yet. However, it sets the tone of subjects I would like to cover and discuss, subjects that I hope to highlight in the coming months.

One person who eased my nerves about discussing such a topic is Lauren from @WonderlessReviews. Lauren recently shared a post regarding being Aromantic and she received a more than positive response from her readers – you can check out her post here. I’m a massive fan of Lauren’s blog, so it was nice to see her discussing her sexuality, one which is usually mentioned alongside asexuality.


Thank you for reading this episode. Make sure you check out Lauren’s blog post regarding Aromanticism, and my article over on IT EQUALS!

One thought on “Asexuality | Episode 2

  1. I’m so glad you felt comfortable enough to share this and I’m so happy that my blog post was able to help you ♥ It’s always so good to hear other people’s experiences and perspectives when it comes to identify as ace/aro. I just hope society starts listening because we deserve to be heard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

