What’s on My Kindle

My Kindle is a constant companion, always in my bag whenever I leave the flat. With my Kindle I have the opportunity to carry hundreds of books, however, I like to be organised. I keep a small amount of books on my Kindle, only adding new books that I plan to read soon. So, here is a list of all the books on my Kindle that I hope to finish/read within the next few months. 


Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

optimists-black-uk

Optimists Die First was sent to me for review by Penguin Random House, which will be out in the next few weeks. I’m currently 70% of the way through this book. So far, I adore it. The cast is quirky and well-developed, while the story is quite sad, but also uplifting at times. It’s a contemporary that doesn’t just focus on the romantic aspect, but also the heavy theme of guilt and trauma. I will share my full opinion when I release my review.

The story follows sixteen-year-old Petula following a family tragedy that occurred three years prior. She has shut herself off from the world and people as she sees danger in everything. She can’t walk past a construction site, shake a germy hand, or use a public restroom. Every week she must attend an Art Therapy class with a group of misfits. They aren’t friends, until one day Jacob join the class. As Petula and Jacob grow closer, they take on inspiring projects together and learn how to confront their fears together.

Optimists Die First releases on March 2nd.

A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray

download-3

Featured on my  list of Anticipated YA Releases of Autumn 2016, the last book in the Firebird series finally hit the shelves in November. I am currently 20% of my way through this read and I love it. After three books, the series is still amazing. With huge, dramatic action scenes; Marguerite’s internal monologue still effectively portrays her feeling of wonder and determination within every new universe we encounter.

One of my favourite things about this series is how the covers reflect the types of universes we see throughout the book. I cannot wait to find out what the space universe is like.

For anyone who hasn’t read A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1): The Firebird series follows Marguerite, an artist. Her parents are scientist who have managed to create a device that allows the user to transport their consciousness to another version of themselves in another universe. When Marguerite’s father is murdered and one of her parent’s students disappears with a Firebird, Marguerite must follow him through the multiverse in order to discover the truth. 

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

the-lovely-bones-9781447275206

Yet another book I am currently reading, but this one is on the Kindle App on my phone. The movie that released in 2009 broke my heart, making me cry buckets of tears. So, of course I have decided to read the book. I’m currently only 9% of my way through as I only read it when I am on a work break. The book is far more damning than the movie, with Susie, the main protagonist, graphically explaining the details of her murder.

The story follows Susie Salmon, at 14-year-old who was murdered one day after school. Within the first few pages Susie explains every detail of her murder to the reader, the underground hideout, the rape, the killing. However, what Susie and the Reader knows, her family do not. Susie watches her family from Heaven as they attempt to deal with the loss of their child, desperate to find her killer. 

With Malice by Eileen Cook

with-malice_hres

This is one read that I am eagerly awaiting.

“Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last six weeks should be. She discovers she was involved in a fatal car accident while on a school trip in Italy. A trip she doesn’t even remember taking.”

The premise of this novel has me hooked. Like with The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins, our main protagonist wakes up in hospital with no memory of how she got there. However, this appears to be more of a contemporary, than a supernatural mystery. This story will follow Jill through a media frenzy as she is painted as a sociopath who purposely killed her friend. I cannot wait to discover the true story of what happened and whether Eileen Cook presents us with an unreliable narrator.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

before-i-fall

It hasn’t yet been announced as to what date the movie adaptation of Lauren Oliver’s most popular novel will release in UK cinemas, but for American readers, you can see it from March 3rd. However, I can live with watching the trailer…over and over again, because this movie looks amazing. And, I hope to read the book before I see the movie, so it’s sat there waiting for me to pick it up.

The Goodreads synopsis reads: “For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.
However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.”

Before I Fall is a contemporary fantasy/mystery that has received a bunch of praise. Hopefully I can get to it soon.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Complete Series by Rick Riordan

document

I promised myself that I would read the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series during the Summer of 2016. That didn’t happen. But, as a reminder to myself, and in the hopes that I can finish this series before the end of Summer 2017, I keep the series on my Kindle. Currently, I am yet to begin The Titan’s Curse – book number three.

For anyone who hasn’t read The Lightning Thief: The series follows Percy Jackson, a 12-year-old boy who discovers that he is the son of Poseidon. The Lightning Thief takes Percy, Grover, – his protector/friend – and Annabeth, – a daughter of Athena – on a journey to recover Zeus’s Lightning Bolt. Percy takes on this quest to clear his name as the entire world blame him, accusing Percy of stealing the Bolt. 

This series is fun and lighthearted, with a few twist and turns, while also having some emotional moment. I really do wish to continue when I have the time.


What books are on your Kindle? Leave a comment down below!

One thought on “What’s on My Kindle

Leave a Comment

