Christmas Book Haul | 2016

As I have gotten older I’ve found it harder and harder to decide what I would like for Christmas. Especially when it comes down to which books I am going to ask for. Like many people I develop quite the Goodreads TBR pile throughout the year, making it nearly impossible to narrow down a handful of books for me to ask for. But, somehow I managed to do just that. This is a list of all the books I got for Christmas, or around Christmas, this year.

*Note: the photos below are taken from the internet as the lighting in my house is terrible so I won’t be using my own.*


Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

mh

When I requested this book all I knew about it was that people seem to adore it. So, I thought I would give it a go and let me tell you this – it’s strange to read such beautiful words about sex when you’re an asexual. But, from what I have read so far, it’s a powerful and emotional collection of ‘poetry’ and prose. The term ‘poetry’ adopted loosely.

Vicious by V.E.Schwab

vicious

A few months ago I read This Savage Song, Schwab’s newest young adult novel that was utterly amazing. Shortly after that I read her short story, Warm Up, which is set in the Vicious universe. It was an intriguing short story that made me crave more of that world and Schwab’s writing. I hope to read this book before Vengeful, the sequel, is published; however that may not happen until 2018 as Schwab is currently working on Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) and publishing  A Conjuring of Light (ADSOM #3).

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E.Schwab

darker

Again with V.E.Schwab. As mentioned above, A Conjuring of Light is publishing soon – February 21st 2017 to be exact. And, although I probably will not catch up with this series by then, I at least wish to begin it. This is debatably one of Schwab’s most popular series. I have definitely seen a significant amount of fan art and theories/discussion for this series, so I cannot wait to see what everyone is raving about. Although, I can already tell that I will definitely enjoy this read.

The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter

9780099588115

This request was more of a necessity than the other books on this list. In my second semester of University I will be studying Angela Carter’s collection of dark fairy tales in The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories. A few friends of mine studied this collection at A Level and have warned me about its graphic nature. So, of course, I look forward to reading it.

It Gets Worse: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson 

it-gets-worse-a-collection-of-essays-9781925368369_hr

I read the Kindle sample of this book before adding it to my Christmas list. Now, I’m not a huge fan of Shane Dawson’s YouTube videos, however I found his narrative voice utterly hilarious. Non-fiction is not a genre I usually dip into, but I thought it would be nice to read something comedic and read outside of my comfort zone.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

91wex42edil

Admittedly, I already own Six of Crows on my kindle. However, when I decided to read it earlier in the year I knew that my mind was not in the right place to be delving into a fantasy of this extent. The opening chapter is one of the best openings I have ever read, so I knew this book was definitely waiting to be read. Thus, I promised myself that when I was ready to read it, I would buy a physical copy, because I know I will love it.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

cover

Many readers have voiced their love for Nimona since its release in 2015. In fact, Victoria Schwab recently mentioned that it was one of her favourite reads of 2016. The art style is unique and the beginning chapter ends on a panel that I could not stop laughing at. I cannot wait to properly dive into this graphic novel.

I strongly hope that in 2017 I will get to read more. I’ve been in a reading/writing slump for too long. Hopefully, some of these books will provide the ladder I need to get out of this hole. Stay tuned for reviews of these reads.


What books did you get over the holidays? Leave a comment down below!

One thought on “Christmas Book Haul | 2016

Leave a Comment

