Wonderless Reviews | The Joy of Christmas Book Tag | Blogmas Day 4

I’m super excited to be participating in Devon’s BLOGMAS! I’ve decided to post a Christmas themed tag for you all, because who doesn’t love Tags?

The Joy of Christmas Book Tag was created by Sam @ Sam’s Nonsense and you can see her original video here.


Anticipation: The Christmas excitement is real, what book release(s) are you most anticipating?

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

31145148-_uy906_ss906_There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

On the surface this seems like a typical cliche YA, but it’s actually the exact opposite. I feel like this is going to parody a lot of YA tropes and the fact the two guys fall in love with each other is incredible. I am so, so excited to read this! Plus Cale Dietrich follows me on Twitter, he’s Australian and seems like such an awesome dude.

Christmas Songs & Carols: What book or author can you not help but sing it’s praises?

Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I literally talk about these two books every chance I get. I love them so much. Illuminae helped make me fall back in love with reading and is a part of the reason why I started blogging. I loved Gemina so much that as soon as I finished the book I listened to the audiobook. I honestly can’t stop thinking about either of these books. I love the characters, the plot, the writing and the unique format! If you want an intense read that is a non stop rollercoaster then I can’t recommend these enough!

Gingerbread Houses: What book or series has wonderful world building?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caraval

I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this a couple of months ago and I DEVOURED it. I can’t wait for everyone else to read it. The world of Caraval is so magical and enchanting. You will get COMPLETELY LOST IN IT. At times I felt like I was actually participating in the game because I had no idea what was real or not. Everything is so beautifully written. I feel like everyone is going to love this book!

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

nn
I was excited to read this because I loved Jay’s writing in Illuminae but I am really intimidated by High Fantasies so I wasn’t sure what to expect. However, Nevernight and it’s world completely sucked me in. The world building is incredible. Especially in regards to the Red Church. If you’ve read it I’m just gonna say I NEED THAT LIBRARY IN MY LIFE.

A Christmas Carol: Favorite classic or one that you want to read.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

whalinc

Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.

I’ve been wanting to read this one for soooooo long. It sounds extremely interesting. Lots of people’s opinion who I trust have loved it too. There’s also going to be a movie with Sebastian Stan and Alex Daddario!!!!!!! So I really gotta get to it!!!

Christmas Sweets: What book would you love to receive for Christmas?

hagrid-harry-illustrated-edition

Image Credit

Definitely the illustrated editions of Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The illustrations look so gorgeous. I need them in my life!!

Candles in the Window: What book gives you that warm fuzzy feeling?

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan!!

pj

Don’t get me wrong, these books RIPPED OUT MY HEART at times, but they’re also my Happy Place. I love them, the characters and world so so much. It makes me so happy thinking about it ♥

Christmas Trees & Decorations: What are some of your favorite book covers?

graphic

This is such a hard question! There are so many beautiful covers out there! Here’s some of my favourites though. I haven’t read all of these yet, but hopefully I can soon!

Christmas Joy: What are some of your favorite things about Christmas And/Or some of your favorite Christmas memories?

To be completely honest, I don’t really like Christmas. I don’t want to get super negative in this tag so I won’t dwell on that too much. I really love giving gifts, that makes me so happy. I especially love seeing my younger siblings open their presents and seeing their excitement makes me excited. Christmas is in summer in Australia which takes away a lot of the fun that the rest of the world gets, but normally my family and I will just have a BBQ lunch/dinner and we just chill out at home. Nothing fancy.


Thank you to Lauren from Wonderless Reviews for participating in Blogmas 2016!

You can find all of Lauren’s links over on her blog, Wonderless Reviews! Make sure you check out all of her posts, as well as her designs on Redbubble and Society6.

And, make sure to return tomorrow for Blogmas day 6.

 

One thought on “Wonderless Reviews | The Joy of Christmas Book Tag | Blogmas Day 4

Leave a Comment

