The 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag | Blogmas Day 3

Welcome to Blogmas day 3! Tags are not something I typically do, however, as it is the holiday season, I thought it would be a good time to share more about my reading preferences in a Christmassy manner. The 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag was originally created over on Fallingdownthebookhole, so make sure to check out the original post.


On the first day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: a partridge in a pear tree. 

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree. What is your favourite stand alone?

61t67Xhl2CL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is one of my favourite books of ALL time. It’s the coming of age tale that follows Charlie, a high school freshman, as he attempts to make friends, makes mistakes, and deal with his past. It’s a lovely story that made me feel all the feels, and still does over one year later.

On the second day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: two turtle doves.

Love is in the air! Who is your one true pairing?

My OTPs are typically between TV characters, such as Dean and Castiel from Supernatural. In fact, I prefer novels without a romantic insinuation, canon or not. Although, if I must choose one OTP, I would say Tana and Gavriel from The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. I have no justification for this really, however, after the ending of the novel, I cannot picture them being apart.

On the third day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: three french hens.

In the spirit of threes, what is the best trilogy you have read?

I have yet to finish A Million Worlds With You, the third installment to this amazing series. However, I cannot wait to see how this story ends. This story has taken us through the multiverse, experiencing life, death, and everything in between. It’s a YA Sci-Fi series that teaches you actual science, history, and art. It’s beautifully imaginative, and one of my favourite series of ALL time.

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: four calling birds.

Since series usually consist of four or more books, what is your favourite series?

The Lorien Legacies series has now come to a close. And, although a sequel series has been announced, I will not likely read it. This series got me into reading, despite all of its many glaring faults; but, the main issue stands, this story was never meant to span 7 books. There are entire books of filler material, meaning the series could have easily and nicely worked as 3 or 4 books. Lorien Legacies will hold a place in my heart forever, but will leave a bitter taste in my mouth all the same.

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: five gold rings.

One ring to rule them all! Who is your favourite villain/antagonist?

Coraline is told from a child’s perspective, Colaline’s perspective; this makes it all the scarier when the Beldam (featured on the right) pretends to be Coraline’s loving mother in her specially constructed reflection of the real world. The Beldam plays on a child’s fear of losing their parents, the temptation to choose indulgence over realism, to choose fantasy over reality. For that, she is a terrifying villain.

Check out my mini review for Coraline here!

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: six geese a laying.

Creation is a beautiful thing! What is your favourite world/world-building?

tog

Erilea, the country which Throne of Glass, The Assassin’s Blade (#0.5), and Crown of Midnight, is a well-developed and varied place. As I have not yet read Heir of Fire, I do not know whether Erilea is revisited again in the series, however I surely hope it is. This land is its own character.

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: seven swans a swimming.

Who need seven swans when all it takes is one good animal sidekick. Who is your favourite animal sidekick?

download-5

Madox, or K-8, is the genetically engineered animal sidekick of Tella, Fire & Flood’s main protagonist. His task is to help Tella survive the competition, a competition through four wildly different ecosystems, against over 100 other people, in hopes of winning a cure for the disease that is killing her brother. Everyone has a special animal sidekick, however Madox stands out due to his unique ability to shape shift – he can mimic the other animals and use their abilities against them.

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: eight maids a milking.

Milk is so 18th century! Which book or series takes beverages/food to a whole new level?

HARRY POTTER.png

Everyone has heard of Butterbeer, pumpkin pasties, chocolate frogs, and Bertie Bott’s every flavour beans. It’s fair to say that the magical world has some pretty awesome sweats available, so much so that they shared them with the muggle world!

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: nine ladies dancing.

Dancing is just one skill of a lady! Who is your favourite kickass female lead?

51yDcqn0tNL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Sloane

Sloane lacks physical strength, however, she has a strength typically underappreciated. She has a mentality that allows her to learn and change. Sloane struggles and manages to overcome the damage done by her father, and gears her strength towards survival instead of death. She adapts to a world full of the undead and decides to live and save those she cares about.

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: ten lords a leaping.

Leaping lords! Who is your favourite leading lad?

august
August Flynn (Source)

One of the main protagonists in Victoria Schwab’s Monsters of Verity series, August Flynn shines as my favourite leading lad. His entire struggle throughout This Savage Song declares him one of the strongest lads around. Where most protagonists fight an antagonist, and maybe a forbidden romance, August fight to live despite his monstrous nature. He fights to be human.

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: eleven pipers piping.

Where would we be without music? What is your favourite book that deals with music?

This Savage Song

It’s clear from the title that this book is influenced by music – a title theme which is present in the sequel, Our Dark Duet. I adore how Victoria weaves music into the story, presenting it as a symbol of peace and violence. Beautifully juxtaposed.

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me: 12 drummers drumming.

Drum roll please…What is your favourite read of the year?

IMG_0869

If you read my We Were Liars review, you’ll know how much I f***ing loved the writing within this novel. It stands out purely due to that.


Make sure to come back tomorrow to see a guest post from Lauren over at Wonderless Reviews!

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas Book Tag | Blogmas Day 3

Leave a Comment

