Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 4/5 stars

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)

Prior to reading Isla and the Happily Ever After, I had not considered YA Contemporary Romance as a genre I would enjoy. Romance in general has never been something I searched for in what I read. However, this read has definitely influenced my outlook on YA romance. Admittedly, I placed a huge pressure on Stephanie Perkins and this novel as, at the time, I decided that it would influence whether I read more YA ConRom or not.
Stephanie Perkins did not disappoint.

The opening chapter is charming and funny, making you instantly fall in love with the central character, Isla. The first person narrative allows you to experience Isla’s inner dilemma’s, alongside her joy and love and every other emotion this novel emits. It’s immersive. You become Isla through this narrative. And you rooted for all the characters to have a happily ever after as they were three-dimensional.

The pacing does lull at times, however the overall plot is engaging and amusing. Additionally, Stephanie’s piece is heavily influenced by art, in every form; which is fitting considering the settings, such as Paris, Barcelona and New York.

This was an easy, fluffy read which made me laugh, cry and smile. Hopefully, I will be able to read the previous books in the companion series soon. Praise to Perkins.


Have you read Isla and the Happily Ever After? Share your opinions down below!

Leave a Comment

