Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

My rating: 3/5 stars

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Red Queen was a massively hyped book with a premise which I adored. However the execution could have been stronger.
While reading, I felt as if the pace of the beginning was too slow, taking too long to get into the action. Plus, certain scenes were difficult to picture, especially chapter 7 as the descriptions seemed all over the place. The story as a whole only became entertaining and immersive after the half way point.
Additionally, towards the end it was revelation after revelation, most of which were expected.

Furthermore, the characters felt under developed and quite forgetful. Mare, the main protagonist, was basic, as if her personality had been lifted from the textbook of How to Write Female YA Protagonists. I have read her personality a hundred times, there was nothing original there. Because of this, I found I couldn’t empathize with not just Mare, but the entire cast; even the main antagonist lack depth, with little to no feasible motivation for their actions.
Also, this book contains ‘instalove’, a common trope in YA which I detest.

On a more positive note, the world within the novel is something I wish too explore more, abeit through a different character’s eyes. I will most likely be reading the sequel Glass Sword, however it is certainly not at the top of my TBR pile.

What did you think of Red Queen? Leave a comment below!

One thought on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Comment

