The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
by Michelle Hodkin

My rating: 4/5 stars

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)

I marathoned the entire trilogy back in April 2015 and adored the majority of the first two novels. However, the third concluded the series in a largely disappointing manner.

During the first installment I quite enjoyed the first person narrative as it helped me engage with the story and made the threats and horror element all the more terrifying. Mara became an unreliable narrator of sorts, and this was an effective reveal that made me question the previous events within the novel. The story is told by Mara, so if we couldn’t trust her version of it, who could we rely on for the truth? Mara was unable to remember the past, the event that geared her change in reality, and others were reluctant to tell her what they knew. It was a mystery, a haunting one, which effectively made my heart pound.
Sadly, the horror element and daunting atmosphere faded during the second book and was not at all present in the third.

I found the pace to be nice and steady, only quickening during the most action orientated or heart pounding scenes. However, again, this was not the way it appeared in the third novel.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer ends with a bang, quite a literal one. But also, a┬ámind-blowing bang as your only reaction is “What the f-“. It was fabulous in that sense, and so was the conclusion to the second novel. However, once again, the third book failed to deliver.

I did enjoy the book, I engaged and fell in love with Noah. Although, reflecting on it 18 months later I realize that, he probably was not that amazing. But, my young imagination propelled my love.

One thought on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Comment

