Across the Universe by Beth Revis


Across the Universe
by
Beth Revis

My rating: 2/5 stars

Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)

I must admit, this was a cover buy. I did not read the synopsis for this novel before I began reading. And, admittedly, I probably should have, because then I would know that this is definitely NOT my type of novel.

This novel is written with a dual perspective, which swaps between Amy and Elder. However, Amy is frozen for the first half of the novel, and I found that I couldn’t support either of the main protagonists as they were whiny and lacked common sense. Nothing makes me cringe more, than witnessing the main protagonist make a stupid decision, when all the right decision required was a little bit of common sense.

The romance between Amy and Elder was a classic example of ‘instalove’. The entire basis of Elder’s attraction to Amy was her appearance, her red hair in the sea of brunettes. If she also had brunette hair, the story would not have happened the way it did – in fact, she probably would not have been spoken to by Elder and just left in the Hospital to live out her life.

I found it difficult to engage with the narrative and, although I didn’t expect some of the revelations, I did not feel an ounce of surprise.

I’m certainly not interested in reading the sequel, which is disappointing as I had heard amazing reviews regarding this novel.

One thought on “Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Leave a Comment

