Overrated YA Novels

When a new, highly anticipated release finally arrives at our doors, the hype that accompanies it can divide the young adult community – leaving some disappointed, while others sing the book’s praises.

The following list contains four books that left me feeling deflated, instead of hyped. This list is not genre specific, however, I may create some genre specific lists in the future. Also, I am only featuring books which I have read to some capacity, whether that be 40% or 100% of the novel.


Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon – (100%)

everything-everything

Everything Everything is about a young girl who, for her entire life, has been confined to her house because she is allergic to the world. She lives with the knowledge that even breathing the air outside could kill her. Then, one day, a boy moves next door. And, as their friendship increases in intensity, so does her desire to go outside.

This is the most recent release on my list, and the hype train is still active. Everything Everything is  Nicola’s debut novel that made it into Zoella’s Book Club. Because of this, I thought I would give it a try. Unfortunately, although the story was cute and easy to read, I found it quite boring, unbelievable and noticed that some elements were quite unoriginal. To me, this read is just forgettable.

The romance between Maddie and Olly was simplistic and underdeveloped. In fact, it could almost be classed as ‘instalove’ – a literary trope which, frankly, I despise. And yes, there is a difference between ‘instalove’ and ‘love at first sight’ (Something I will discuss in a future post). I currently have a review drafted for this book, so that may go up at some point in the future.

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings – (100%)

I13576132 managed to do a review of The Murder Complex back in April – you can find it here – and this review was less than glowing. The Murder Complex is a dystopian novel which follows two perspectives, Meadow and Zephyr. Zephyr is unknowingly programmed by The Murder Complex, while Meadow attempts to survive in a part of Florida controlled by the Murder Complex.

One main issue I found with The Murder Complex is that of the characters. They are bland. I found it exceptionally difficult to connect with them, therefore I did not care for the outcome of their adventure. Additionally, the pacing was ridiculous and inconsistent, which made the cliffhanger ending lose its intended impact.

Because of this, I certainly will not be reading the second novel. However, on a lighter note, Lindsay has redeemed herself with the release of Zenith – a collaboration with Sasha Alsberg of booktube fame – and this read is certainly worth the hype.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis – (100%)

downloadAcross the Universe is about Amy, a girl who is cryogenically frozen and sent across space in a ship, named Godspeed. Also, the story follows Elder, a young boy who is being groomed to be the next leader of the people aboard Godspeed.

I found so many issues with this novel, most of which are discussed in my Goodreads Review – here. Readers raved about this ‘sci-fi epic’, when in reality, it was a shallow story, featuring the YA trope ‘instalove’. The so-called ‘mystery’ aboard Godspeed had an expected revelation; however, it is understandable why Amy and Elder did not anticipate the reveal as the two of them made reckless decisions and clearly lacked any common sense.

I disembarked from the hype train immediately and will gladly keep my distance from the rest of this trilogy.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R.Carey – (55%)

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts-book

There was a bundle of excitement regarding this novel, although not as much as that surrounding the other books on this list. However, before beginning this novel, I had only read raving reviews – no negative comments crossed my radar. As is the case with the majority of reads on this list.

The Girl with All the Gifts follows Melanie, a 10-year-old girl who adores school. She lives in a compound, where soldiers point guns at her and the showers burn her skin. This post apocalyptic story failed to hit the heart-strings that many claimed it would. Furthermore, I have a review for this novel, however, it has never been published due to how negative of a review it is – simply put, I was not pleased with the story. I managed to reach 55% on my Kindle progress bar, only due to my reluctance to add another book to my Goodreads ‘dnf’ pile.

Maybe one day, I will publish my review, or maybe not. I dislike posting completely negative reviews of my reads, as I appreciate how much work, time and dedication the author has put into their novels. Sadly, in this instance, the book could not live up to the hype. Hopefully, the movie will justify the novel.


Now you have seem my list of YA novels that left me stranded on the platform in the pouring rain, after everyone else had boarded the hype train. What reads have you found overrated? Leave a comment down below!

Check out next Friday’s post all about Underrated YA Novels or Series.

2 thoughts on “Overrated YA Novels

Leave a Comment

