Bout of Books 17 | Day 4 + Kindred Spirits Review

It is day 4 of the Bout of Books 17 Readathon! How is everyone’s progress?

My progress has been quite slow so far…

Shame

I read Rainbow Rowell’s short, Kindred Spirits, on Monday. This book wasn’t on my TBR, however, I read it late at night as a way of redeeming myself for not reading anything during the day. You can find my Goodreads review of Kindred Spirits down below.

On Tuesday, I did not read anything; however, on Wednesday, I finally began reading Clockwork Angel, which is on my TBR. I most likely will not complete this read this week as I think I may be in a bit of a reading slump and I have spent a lot of time planning, and even writing, future blog posts for when I’m in University. So I have not been sat doing nothing, just not doing the one thing I should be doing, which is reading.


Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 2/5 stars

Kindred Spirits

I wasn’t blown away by this novella. In fact, I feel as if it was kind of a pointless read.
It feels as if it is a recount of a real life Star Wars event. Which, I guess is great in a sense, as some stories fail to convey a realism where it is needed. However, I was hoping for a little more from this short.
I have read shorter stories that have generated stronger emotions, however, this failed to make me feel anything.

The main character is quite whiny and rude for no a reason, and the reasons that are provided are immature for an 18 year-old protagonist.
I could not relate to the main character and cannot even remember her name…

The writing was not bad, although it was not anything to brag about. Sadly, I feel as if this read will be easily forgotten in a few weeks.


What have you read so far? Leave a comment down below!

Leave a Comment

