Bout of Books 17 | Challenge 1

The first challenge of the Bout of Books Readathon is underway. Participants are tasked with sharing their favourite and least favourite book to movie adaptions, as well as giving the reasons for these choices.

I once wrote an entire blog post regarding the issues surrounding book to movie adaptations; however, I never posted it. Maybe I will one day, although it will need rewriting as my style has significantly changed since I wrote it.


My Favourite Book to Movie Adaptation:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Perksthe_perks_of_being_a_wallflower_poster_by_hurricaneoffire-d5qf5tg

I saw the movie before I read the book. In fact, I only read this book back in October of last year, when I saw the movie back in 2012.

Logan Lerman does an excellent job at portraying Charlie, the main protagonist. His performance is perfect as he manages to reflect Charlie’s awkward personality, alongside the inner struggle he feels when dealing with unfamiliar situations.

Although, there are some differences and book scenes that were lost in translation, this movie holds true to the themes of the source material. Also, the tunnel song – which is not named in the novel – is David Bowie’s Heroes. This song is perfect as the tunnel song, and works brilliantly within the narrative and the movie and the idea of feeling infinite.

You can check out my review of the novel here.


My Least Favourite Book to Movie Adaptation:

I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (aka James Frey)

coverI-Am-Number-Four

Like with The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I watched the movie before reading the book. And I enjoyed the movie, so much so that I read the source material.

However, upon completion of the novel, I released how unfaithful this movie adaptation was. The characters had the wrong abilities, the finale happened incorrectly, the relationship building was disappointing and none of the characters seemed to develop like they did in the books.

The movie adaptation was rated so badly, that the plan to adapt the sequels was sacked. Which, after thinking about it, is a good thing. The books become so crazy that they would not translate to the movies without looking like a corny, low budget 60s Sci-fi or a over the top CGI fest.

What are your favourite/least favourite book to movie adaptations? Leave a comment down below!

 

Leave a Comment

