Bout of Books 17 Readathon

Bout of Books

I recently took part in the High Summer Readathon and had an amazing week reading, hosting a challenge and talking to other participants. With the Bout of Books Readathon around the corner, I thought this would be a great opportunity to get some more reading done. Throughout the week I will be sharing my progress on Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads, so make sure to check out my links in the footer of this page.

For those who want to know more about this Readathon:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @On a Book Bender and Kelly @Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team


My TBR

 To Complete – United as One (Lorien Legacies #7) by Pittacus Lore

UAO

I originally began reading the final book in the Lorien Legacies series in the beginning of July. However, I found myself losing interest as I just wanted the series to be over. Seven books is far too many for this narrative, and they all contain massive chunks of filler material that is completely unnecessary.

Plus, the series is plagued by the constant inconsistencies featured throughout – this matter should be left till my end of series discussion that will take place once I have finished this book.

The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) by Rick Riordan

Rick-Riordan-The-Titans-Curse

During the High Summer Readathon, I managed to finish Sea of Monsters – the second book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. And, with my aim to complete this series by the end of summer, readathons seem like the optimal opportunity to progress towards this goal. Although, the time frame may need stretching as the end of Summer is nigh.

Surprisingly, I engaged with the fast paced narrative of the previous books within the series. The Percy Jackson series is far from my typical reads, however, over the years I have seen marvelous reviews and fandom commentaries that have swayed my decision to finally read the story of Percy Jackson.

Once I complete this series, I will post a discussion post, sharing my opinions, head canons and theories regarding the stories and universe. All with the hopes of progressing onto the second series in Autumn – Heroes of Olympus.

Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

clockwork-angel

Featured on my Summer TBR list, The Infernal Devices is a series I have been desperate to begin for some time. Raving reviews and an interesting synopsis, the reason as to why this has not yet hit my Goodreads ‘read’ shelf is a mystery, one which I am hoping to correct this week.

I adore the world of the Shadowhunters, the entire basis for the Infernal Devices, and The Mortal Instruments series. However, I have yet to successfully complete a novel set in this universe – hopefully this will be rectified by the end of the readathon.

Are you taking part? What books are on your Bout of Books 17 TBR? Leave a comment down below!

 

Leave a Comment

