High Summer Readathon | 2016

If you follow me on social media you will know that I am taking part in the High Summer Readathon, which is taking place from the 18th to the 24th of this month. This week-long readathon will hopefully be less stressful as the Dewey’s 24 Hour while also being just as fun. For full details on the readathon, check out the Seasons of Reading blog, where you can find the guidelines and the links to all the other fantastic blogs which are participating. Additionally, if you want some readathon tips, check out this post I did for the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon back in April.

Throughout the week I will be posting my progress over on Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr, so make sure to follow me there.

My Readathon TBR:

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

9781509820856Kindred Spirits

Rainbow Rowell’s World Book Day special novella centres on Elena, a die-hard Star Wars fan, as she waits outside her local cinema to see The Force Awakens. Having read Fangirl by Rowell, I suspect this novella will contain a blooming romance between Elena and another Star Wars fan. The physical copy is 62 pages of large font, indicative of a quick read, which will allow for a respite between the chunkier novels on this list.

(To continue) Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Rick-Riordan-The-Sea-Of-Monsters

This is the sequel to Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief, and it follows Percy as he travels to the Sea of Monsters to rescue Grover. I began reading this last month but have not been motivated enough to finish it, so I am putting my foot down and declaring that this is the week I will finish it! I would love to finish the entire series this summer, because this is the series everyone raves about, however we will see if I am able to.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8027777922_c84177c413_o
This story follows Conor as the monster from his nightmares comes to life. “The monster is something different, something ancient, something wild. And it wants the truth.”. A feature from last week’s summer TBR list, this horror is on my TBR as a nod to Seasons of Reading’s horror centric readathons that take place in Spring and Autumn. I’m not sure if I will be able to take part in next season’s reading scarefest so I thought now would be a good chance to dip my toe into the horror genre. Also, summer equals light nights, so there is no chance of this story coming to haunt me once I put it down.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything-everything

Everything Everything is a new release this year and is the debut novel for Nicola Yoon. It focuses on Maddy, a teenage girl who is allergic to the world, and Olly, the boy next door. Not only is the cover absolutely gorgeous, the story sounds like a cute romance, which focuses on the risks people take for love. Summer is the season of romance, a genre I do not typically part take in; aside from Fangirl and Isla and the Happily Ever After, my list of completed YA romance novels is frightfully low for an 18-year-old romantically frustrated girl. A simple premise, which I have heard has a lot of heart.

My wrap up for the readathon will be live on the 25th, so make sure to check that out. Remember that I will be live throughout the week on all my social media links up in the page header, along with maybe posting on here every other day. Leave a comment down below, what is your readathon TBR?

Also, stay tuned Saturday for my usual Saturday post – this week is a review of Zenith (The Androma Saga #1) by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings.

One thought on “High Summer Readathon | 2016

  1. Glad to have you with us, Devon. I like your reading list. I’ve been wanting to read “A Monster Calls.” I can’t remember if I have it in print, or Kindle book. I need to check my Kindle.

    Good luck with your reading goals…and thanks again for hosting the mini-challenge. Has anyone done it yet?

    Like

Leave a Comment

