Top 5 Book I Want to Read | Summer 2016

Instead of doing a monthly TBR like most Booktubers I prefer to set myself a seasonal wishlist, a list of five or so books which I hope to read throughout the season. I created one on an old blog back in Autumn 2015 and completely failed, which was no surprise as I normally find it very difficult to follow any reading schedule or rules due to my habit of falling into reading hangovers which typically turn into reading slumps. And my reading slumps can span months. It’s a problem that I wish to overcome this summer by getting into more of a positive reading habit.

I have the next 12 or so weeks to read, write, and take a well deserved rest before I become an official adult and drive off to University or full-time employment. The following list is of the books I wish to read before such a time comes, these are my most anticipated books for this season and I cannot wait to dive into them.


Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows by J.K.Rowling

Harry Potter Deathly Hallows Jonny Duddle edition

Back in 2014, when I first began reading ebooks, I bought the Harry Potter series on my kindle and planned on marathoning the series throughout the year. At this time I was quite a slow reader, and along with the fact that I exclusively reading on the bus, it did take ALL year, especially since I tried to read other books while reading the series so that I would not get tired. With that set up I managed to read 6 out of the 7 books within that year, which is laughably embarrassing. I guess I am worried about reading the last book of the series due to the fact that I’ve seen all the movies, if I have read all the books then it is the end of an era and such an amazing and influential series, a series that will be remembered throughout history.


This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Untitled 8

This is a new release which I have been eying for a while. I’ve never read anything by Victoria Schwab, however, I have only ever read positive reviews about her work, her novels are typically well regarded throughout the Young Adult Literature community, so I am definitely looking forward to experiencing her work first hand. This is the first installment in the Monsters of Verity series which follows Kate Harker and August Flynn who are heirs to a divided city – “a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters.”. I will most likely do a review of this book once I have read it, however, check it out for yourself because it is already receiving rave reviews on Goodreads!


Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass-Sword-High-Res

I may need to recap Red Queen before beginning this sequel to Mare’s story, however, I am looking forward to discovering more about the world in which this series is set, along with find answers to the questions left by the first book. I have not looked at the novellas which have been released since the first book debuted, but I will possibly do that soon in order to be fully caught up with all the details within the Red Queen universe. I’m currently planning a miniature review of the first book, so if you wish to know my thoughts follow me on here.


Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

clockwork-angel

I’ve been wanting to read the Infernal Device trilogy for a while as it is so highly regarded in the YA community. I tried reading the Mortal Instruments: City of Bones not too long ago and it didn’t really go very well. The writing and story were fine, I just struggled to engage with the characters, possibly due to the massive age gap as Clary is 12. But I am eager to begin this trilogy, so here it is on this list.


A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8027777922_c84177c413_o

I initially did not have any clue as to what this book was, I bought it for the cover and inside illustrations. Once the movie trailer dropped I was hooked and super keen to read this. It looks as if it is a horror, which is a genre I do not typically read, but horizons need broadening, so here it is on this list.


What do you plan on reading this Summer holiday? And have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think?

One thought on “Top 5 Book I Want to Read | Summer 2016

Leave a Comment

