Hour 2 – Mini-Challenge: Top 3 Bookish Childhood Moments

Follow this link to get details on the challenge. It is meant to be a top 5 list, but I don’t have many bookish memories from my childhood.

Unfortunately, I was not much of a reader when I was younger, it wasn’t something I was ever really into until I read I am Number Four, and The Hunger Games. However, I do have a few bookish memories to share.

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney

For years my mother and I had an ongoing competition – who loved my father the most. She would say “I love you” to my dad, and I would shout “No! I love him more”, and I think this book is the reason. Thank you to my Grandparents for reading this book to me when I was little, along with buying me the accompanying teddies.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

This is one of the most famous children’s books in the world. We spent so long learning about this book in primary school, we read it, watched the movie, coloured in the caterpillar. It was an innocent time. Now currently studying child literacy we re-watched the movie, and re-read through the book and all I could think about was how silly that Caterpillar must be to only eat a hole through a piece of fruit instead of eating the whole fruit. But when I read this as a child, I didn’t question the logic.

Denial by David Belbin

In secondary school we were always made to read during monday tutor time, you had to pick a book from the library and read for half an hour, and like everyone else I just picked up any random book and pretended to read. However, this book I actually read, and still remember to this day for its serious subject matter which I didn’t fully understand at the innocent age of twelve.

What are your childhood bookish memories?

2 thoughts on “Hour 2 – Mini-Challenge: Top 3 Bookish Childhood Moments

Leave a Comment

