My Dewey’s Readathon Reading List | April 2016

The Dewey’s Readathon commences in 24 hours so I hope you’ve all compiled a reading list to marathon. The following is a list of books that I will be reading from, I will not be able to get through them all, but it will give me the opportunity to decide what I feel reading when it comes to switching books.


Journey’s End by R.C.Sherriff (Play)

IMG_05

Quick Synopsis: This play deals with the horror and futility of trench warfare, as Captain Stanhope and his officers await attack in their dugout.

I read this play last year as part of my college course and it really tore my emotions up, it displayed the true horrors of life in the trenches during World War One. I now need to reread this before my exam, and I thought the readathon would be a great opportunity to power through this 100 page play. Aside from the emotional impact it had when I first read this, I enjoyed the story and the accompanying message about War, the characters were diverse within their personalities and attitudes, and it definitely helped with my study of War Literature.


The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (5th Wave #2) (Novel)

IMG_057

Infinite Sea is the second novel in the 5th wave trilogy, and came out two months prior to me reading the first novel of the series back in November 2014. After reading The 5th Wave I promptly added Infinite Sea to my Christmas List and awaited merrily while it was delivered, wrapped, and ready for me to read. However, when I got it I did not read it for whatever reason, and as 2015 came and went, the desire to read this sequel dwindled, especially because I could only remember sparse parts of the previous book. So I decided I would add it to my Readathon pile, with the thought that if it doesn’t get opened today, it will never be opened.

*No synopsis is provided as this is a sequel and I would hate to spoil the previous novel for those who have yet to read it.


Dualed by Elsie Chapman (Novel)

IMG_0301

Synopsis: Two of you exist. Only one will survive. The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

I bought this back in November 2015 while in a dystopian mood as I was part way through The Murder Complex, – the part that intrigued me – and was hoping to follow it up with Dualed. Unfortunately, the pleasure I received while reading The Murder Complex decreased as I progressed through the book, and I was left at the end with more issues and negative comments than anything positive. My urge to read dystopian young adult literature had been stamped on by this one novel by Lindsay Cummings, one that garnered a multitude of positive reviews from other bloggers, that left me feeling deflated and unsatisfied. Hopefully my urge to read dystopian will arise during the day and I will pick up this book that I have waited to read for so long.


Fables: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham (Graphic Novel)

Fables

Synopsis: When a savage creature known only as the Adversary conquered the fabled lands of legends and fairy tales, all of the infamous inhabitants of folklore were forced into exile. Disguised among the normal citizens of modern-day New York, these magical characters have created their own peaceful and secret society within an exclusive luxury apartment building called Fabletown.

If you are a gamer you have probably heard of the masterpiece that is The Wolf Among Us, a series by Telltale Games that was based on the Fables graphic novels. The story follows Bigby Wolf as he tries to solve the murder of Rose Red – Snow White’s sister – with the aid of Snow White. It’s a great modern twist on classic fairy tale characters, and I am quite excited to dive into it. Fables will be my designated ‘easy read’ which I hope to pick up part way through the day to allow my eyes to rest.


Sword Art Online by Reki Kawahara (Novel)

IMG_0443

Quick Synopsis: In the year 2022, gamers rejoice as Sword Art Online – a VRMMORPG (Virtual Reality Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) like no other – debuts, allowing players to take full advantage of the ultimate in gaming technology: NerveGear, a system that allows users to completely immerse themselves in a wholly realistic gaming experience. But when the game goes live, the elation of the players quickly turns to horror as they discover that, for all its amazing features, SAO is missing one of the most basic functions of any MMORPG – a log-out button, and if they die in the game they cannot respawn.

I loved the anime. As simple as that. The novel was originally written back in ’09, translated, developed as an anime series, and became a manga. The SAO anime opened the doors to a new genre of storytelling for me as I had only ever see Sailor Moon with its cheesy and over the top characters, but SAO showed me how rich character development could be within an anime. This novel is translated from the original Japanese and therefore I expect some errors in translation which I am willing to overlook for the sake of the story, because the story is an experience I am willing to go through multiple times.


Lorien Legacies: Lost Files 10-12 by Pittacus Lore (Novellas)

y450-293

United as One – the final book in the Lorien Legacies series – is set to release in June of this year, and I want to be prepared for everything that is going to happen in this epic conclusion to one of my favourite series of all time. This collection of novellas contains:

  • The Fugitive: Where Mark James is on the run—and on the wrong side of the law—but he’ll do whatever it takes to save Sarah Hart and help the Garde.
  • The Navigator: Where we meet Lexa, a Loric hacker whose unrivaled skills helped her narrowly escape her doomed planet, and who’s been hiding on Earth ever since.
  • The Guard: We also learn how Loric hacker Lexa became the shadowy figure known as GUARD, an unknown character mentioned in The Revenge of Seven (LL #5).

Although I already know what happens after these events as they are set before The Fate of Ten (LL #6), I’m still excited to return to Mark’s perspective, and experience Lexa as a narrator as she will be the oldest character to narrate, meaning she will most likely have more knowledge, different reactions, and views that differ from the younger protagonists.


My complete readathon pile – minus the Lorien Legacies novellas.

What will you be reading during the Readathon? Is it a novel, play, graphic novel, or manga?

2 thoughts on “My Dewey’s Readathon Reading List | April 2016

Leave a Comment

