A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

*This review may contain spoilers, please read at your own risk*

Quick Synopsis: Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him. A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.


I’ve had this book sat on my kindle for a while now and I am thrilled to have finally read it. Aside from the at times out of place pop culture references, this book was fantastic and I cannot wait to pick up the sequel – Ten Thousand Skies Above You.

At first I found myself being a little too nitpicky, I pointed out every minute detail which annoyed me, thus annoying myself. I’ve become too critical of novels to sit back and enjoy them and I need to drop this habit, now! Otherwise I’ll be left with a dislike to every book I ever pick up. My perfectionist mind set needs to remember that not everything can be perfect, whether that is a book I’m reading or my own work, to quote Hannah Montana “Everybody makes mistakes”. So let’s attempt writing a positive review, focusing on the truly wonderful aspects of A Thousand Pieces of You, and everything that worked well.

The premise. The idea of exploring multiple dimensions was enough to persuade me to open this book up, prompting the question “why didn’t I pick this up sooner?”. This novel offers a fabulous variety of realities, an insight into all the possible presents had events happened differently. The audience witness what the world would be like if technology had progressed faster, slower and if global warming took place earlier. My favourite universe was definitely the one in which technology had advanced at a slower rate and Marguerite’s mother’s family never emigrated from Russia to the West. Although all the universes had their own unique aspects, this one engaged me as it’s where the majority of the love story took place, it’s also the universe which has its own problems happening in the background of Marguerite’s story.

Furthermore, the revelations in this book were definitely not expected, and the shock factor added to the enjoyment of the story. Each revelation drew me further into the novel as I wanted answers – congratulations to Claudia Gray for creating unpredictable twists, not many authors have been able to shock me as much as you have. Additionally, the ending was exactly as I had hoped, as all I wanted was a joyous conclusion for all the characters I loved. The writing was the correct balance between simplicity and sophistication, meaning the story was effortless to follow and imagining the events was a smooth experience.

Now let’s discuss the characters. At the beginning of the novel the idea of a love triangle between our three central characters felt a tad out of place, however, as I got further into the novel and began develop attachments to these characters, it became natural. I could understand why both Theo and Paul would be into Marguerite, I would be if she was real. Although she wasn’t on par with Celaena from Throne of Glass or June from Legend, she was a fighter determined to avenge her father, and her drive was undeniable – If I was in her shoes I’d have went bonkers straight away. The supporting cast all held their own unique personalities which came to life as the novel progressed, Paul in particular blossomed well by the end. Another character which I adored was Marguerite’s father, seeing the varying versions of him in other dimensions was lovely as he is such a caring and generous man in every universe.

Simply put, this novel was brilliant. If I could forget I read this book to then go back and re-experience it, I’d gladly do that. Thank you Claudia Gray, thank you. The characters are well developed, the language isn’t too sophisticated and the variety of worlds is wondrous. I’d happily have a movie adaptation, providing the writers and producers are faithful to the novel. I’m going to give A Thousand Pieces of You 4.5/5 stars.

The sequel, Ten Thousand Skies Above You, is equally as amazing with its in depth look at what prompted the events of these novels; looking at the consequences of dimensional travel and exploring more magnificently crafted worlds. Part of me only wishes I could own this series in their hardback glory as they have truly beautiful covers, this is the one series you will not regret judging by the cover.

Thank you for reading this review, go check it out for yourself, here is a link to the Goodreads page where you can check out where to buy yourself a copy, read the full synopsis and check out other reviews.

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Leave a Comment

